IEEE Selects Mohammad Shahidehpour for Prestigious Award

Apr 15, 2016 | Other News

Willdan is especially pleased to congratulate Willdan Board member Mohammad Shahidehpour, who was selected by IEEE to receive its 2016 PES Douglas M. Staszesky Distribution Automation Award.

Dr. Shahidehpour is Bodine Chair Professor at the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT).

IEEE Power & Energy Society states that the award’s purpose is “to recognize those in the industry who have made a significant contribution to making the automation of electric utility distribution systems a practical reality. Doug Staszesky worked with a great deal of energy and passion to bring new technologies and new concepts to the field of distribution automation and to promote the value of investments in such systems to electric utility decision makers. This award is established to recognize people in the industry that have displayed that same energy and passion to the field of distribution automation and who have demonstrated success in the implementation of systems that provide real benefits for electric utilities and their customers.”

IEEE is “the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity”.

According to IIT Today, the form of recognition is a $2,000 scholarship to the engineering school of the recipient’s choice, a plaque, and a travel stipend of up to $1,500 to attend the presentation ceremony.